2024 Chancellor's Retiree of the Year Awards

Awards will be presented by Dr. Mun Choi at a MURA event.

BEGUN IN 1990, the Chancellor's Retiree of the Year Awards focus on the accomplishments of former employees after their retirement. These accomplishments may involve volunteer service to the University, civic and welfare services, career and professional activities or other noteworthy achievements. Accomplishments prior to retirement are not considered in the selection process. Two awards will be given: one to a faculty member and one to a staff member. Each award includes a plaque and a \$1,500 check. Previous nominees not selected are kept in the pool for two more years.

CRITERIA FOR NOMINATION:

- Nominees must have retired from the University of Missouri before Jan. 1, 2019. •
- Nominees must have contributed volunteer service to their communities, university or professional and civic organizations following their retirement. •
- Retiree Advisory Committee members are not eligible •

NOMINATION PROCESS:

- 1. Complete the nomination form below.
- 2. Prepare a letter with the following information:
 - a. Nominee's extraordinary accomplishments since retiring.
 - b. Personal and background information about the nominee.
 - c. Summary most important reason(s) why you believe the candidate should receive one of these awards.
- 3. Attach three letters of support from others who know the nominee.

NOMINATION FORM

| Candidate's name: | | | | | | | | | |
|------------------------|---|--------|---------|-------|---------|------|---------|-----------|--|
| 🗌 Faculty 🗌 Staff | ty 🗌 Staff Year of retirement: MU department/ position at time of retirement: | | | | | | | | |
| Mailing address: | | | | | | | | | |
| Phone: | | Email: | | | | | | | |
| Nominator: | | | Faculty | Staff | Student | Alum | Retiree | Community | |
| Mailing address: | | | | | | | | | |
| Email: | Phone: | | | | | | | | |
| Nominator's signature: | | Date: | | | | | | | |

QUESTIONS? Call 573-446-5525 • PLEASE RETURN NOMINATION MATERIALS BY MARCH 1, 2024, To: University of Missouri - Ashley Rhode, 210 Whitten Hall, Columbia, MO 65211, Rhodea@umsystem.edu

Questions about an individual's eligibility for this award, e-mail Dick Otto at OttoR@missouri.edu withRetiree-Award in the subject line.

| Previous Recipients | | | | | | | | | | |
|---------------------|------|---------------------|----------------------|------|---------------------|-----------------------|--|--|--|--|
| | Year | Faculty | Staff | Year | Faculty | Staff | | | | |
| | 1990 | Ernest M. Funk | Albert J. Flischel | 2007 | Max Miller | Gary L. Smith | | | | |
| | 1991 | Veralee B. Hardin | Jerome & Marie Mason | 2008 | Rod Gelatt | Georgia Morehouse | | | | |
| | 1992 | Robert S. Daniel | George Brooks | 2009 | James E. Creed | Ernest Hilderbrand | | | | |
| | 1993 | Charles W. Gerke | Allen W. Purdy | 2010 | Robert T. Marshall | Joyce Lake | | | | |
| | 1994 | Adolph E. Schroeder | Anthony W. Lampe | 2011 | John Parker | Judith A. Cunningham | | | | |
| | 1995 | C. Melvin Bradley | Russell Dale Cook | 2012 | Robert Blake Jr. | Judy Olson | | | | |
| | 1996 | Dale Sechler | Paul Rexroad | 2013 | Bob Stewart | Jack Miles | | | | |
| | 1997 | Betty Crim | W. E. (Bill) Moyes | 2014 | Don Day | Phyllis Miller | | | | |
| | 1998 | Robert Breitenbach | Betty Cook Rottmann | 2015 | George Kennedy | Susan Turner | | | | |
| | 1999 | Nelson Trickey | Martha Sue Dailey | 2016 | Nan Erickson | Kee Groshong | | | | |
| | 2000 | Walter Wilkening | Ray McClure | 2017 | Richard M. Hessler | Marie C. Sloan | | | | |
| | 2001 | Ross Swofford | Ola Mae Taggart | 2018 | Robert J. Churchill | Richard J. Otto | | | | |
| | 2002 | Thomas G. Brown | Elizabeth Bailey | 2019 | Jill Raitt | Sandra L. Taylor | | | | |
| | 2003 | Emma Jean McKinin | Sue Tucker Troutner | 2020 | Brian Brooks | Ron Geren | | | | |
| | 2004 | John L. Mowrer | Nina Hiler | 2021 | Jeff Chinn | Jacqueline Hall Kelly | | | | |
| | 2005 | Jo Behymer | Darlene Miles | 2022 | Susan Flader | Karl Skala | | | | |
| | 2006 | Verna Rhodes | Darlene Schroeder | 2023 | David Luethold | Elizabeth Miederhoff | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | |